Auf deutsch lesen

manifest Potsdam

Founded in 1973 – like it was called back then – as a central culture group in the Pedagogical Highschool Potsdam, “manifest” evolved with the five members (who aren’t Jews) a regional respected interpretation of Yiddish music (or Klezmer) since the beginning of the 90th. The repertoire of the group consists mainly of Yiddish songs, tunes and dances of the eastern European Jews. In their program “But you can’t sate tears with tears” they relate a fictive Jewish life history with the inspiration of letters, narrations and texts of the Jewish author Joseph Burg.

The repertoire of the group includes also Jewish songs, stories and dances about all occasions of life. At the moment the group members are Marian Herrmann (bass guitar), Holger Kapp (guitar, mandolin, vocal), Harald Petzold (fidl, violin, viola, vocal), Marcus Pilarski (cello, vocal), Thomas Wehling (guitar, vocal, percussion). Klezmer Music dates back to the eastern European Judaism (ascenasm) tradition. Still in the 15th century Klezmer was developed as a secular (non lithurgish) Jewish music that was performed by folk musicians called Klezmorims. Because of the migratory lifestyle some Rabbis just despised them and so they developed a special music “of the streat” – of the “schtetl”. The main instruments were violin (the fidl), dulcimer (Tsimbl), contrabass, cello, flute (later clarinet) and percussion.

The repertoire of the group includes pieces that were played on weddings and public festivals. The fascination of this music is the connection between (musical) ecstasy and human despair. Important musical forms are, as dances, the multipart “Freylekhs” (little jaunty pieces) between major and minor, Bulgar (round dancing) or Nigun (played for the Chassidim’s) and often also the easy Jewish songs. In Germany since the 70th the Klezmer music is played more and more in the genre of “world-music”. Today in Germany exist many Klezmer-groups who play original interpretations as well as combinations with elements of Jazz, Rock and Pop. Many composers (like Bernstein, Gershwin, Schostakowitch, …) were inspired by Yiddish music.

Current group members

  • Violin/Viola: Harald Petzold
  • Cello: Markus Pilarski
  • Bass: Marian Herrmann
  • Guitar/Spoon: Thomas Wehling
  • Mandoline/Guitar: Holger Kapp


Technical requirements for gigs

In closed, club like rooms the band plays without technical equipment (Exception: an amp we bring for the e-bass)

For outdoor concerts or concerts in big halls these technical requirements have to be noticed:

  • 4 Vocal-Microphones
  • 2 Instrumental-Microphones for comb. Guitar/Mandolin,
  • 3 Microphones in front of amps for E-Bass
  • Violin/Viola and Cello (or appropriate connections for Jack/Jack-cables)
  • min. 2 Monitor-Speakers.

 The group needs for all gigs 3 chairs without armrests.

 Requests to: Wehling.t@web.de

Read in English

manifest Potsdam

Gegründet 1973 als – wie es seinerzeit hieß – zentrale Kulturgruppe der Pädagogischen Hochschule Potsdam, entwickelte manifest mit seinen fünf (nichtjüdischen) Mitgliedern seit Beginn der 90er Jahre eine regional anerkannte Interpretation jiddischer (oder auch Klezmer-)Musik.

Das Repertoire der Gruppe umfasst vor allem Lieder und Tänze der Juden Osteuropas. In ihrem Programm „Mit Tränen aber kann man keine Tränen stillen“ erzählen sie eine fiktive jüdische Lebensgeschichte, inspiriert von Briefen, Erzählungen und Texten des jüdischen Autors Joseph Burg. Ihr Repertoire umfasst darüber hinaus jiddische Lieder, Geschichten und Tänze zu allen Lebens-Gelegenheiten. Zur Gruppe gehören Marian Herrmann (Bass), Holger Kapp (Gitarre, Mandoline, Gesang), Harald Petzold (Fidl (Violine, Viola), Gesang), Marcus Pilarski (Cello, Gesang) und Thomas Wehling (Gitarre, Gesang, Percussion). Klezmer(-Musik): Klezmer ist eine aus dem osteuropäischen (aschkenasischen) Judentum stammende Musiktradition. Sie entwickelte sich um das 15. Jahrhundert herum als eine Tradition weltlicher (nichtlithurgischer) jüdischer Musik und wurde von Klezmorim genannten Volksmusikanten gespielt. Wegen ihres fahrenden Lebensstils wurden sie allerdings von den eigenen Rabbinern eher verachtet und entwickelten Klezmer so zu einer Musik des jiddischen Schtetls. Hauptinstrumente waren zunächst Violine (jidd. Fidl), Hackbrett (jidd. Tsimbl), Kontrabass, Cello und Flöte, später Klarinette und Percussionsinstrumente.

Das Repertoire umfasst vor allem Stücke, die auf Hochzeiten und Volksfesten gespielt wurden. Für viele Zuhörer faszinierend an dieser Musik ist die Verbindung von (musikalischer) Ekstase und menschlicher Verzweiflung. Wichtige musikalische Formen sind als Tänze die mehrteiligen, oft zwischen Moll und Dur wechselnden Freylekhs (von jidd. a freylikhs shtikele = ein fröhliches Stückchen), Bulgar (ein Rundtanz) oder Nigun (wurde vor allem für die Chassiden gespielt) sowie die oft einfachen jiddischen Lieder. In Deutschland wird Klezmer seit Beginn der 70er Jahre im Zuge des sogenannten Folk-Revivals wieder verstärkt aufgeführt und gehört, hier allerdings in erster Linie als Sparte der Welt-Musik. Heute gibt es eine Reihe von Klezmer-Gruppen, deren stilistische Bandbreite von originalen Aufführungspraktiken bis hin zur Kombination mit Elementen des Jazz, Rock und Pop reichen. Zahlreiche Komponisten ließen sich von Klezmer inspirieren (z.B. Leonard Bernstein, George Gershwin, Dmitri Schostakowitsch).

 Aktuelle Besetzung

  • Violine/Bratsche: Harald Petzold
  • Cello: Markus Pilarski
  • Bass: Marian Herrmann
  • Gitarre/Löffel: Thomas Wehling
  • Mandoline/Gitarre: Holger Kapp


Technische Anforderungen der Gruppe

In geschlossenen, klubähnlichen Räumen tritt die Gruppe ohne Technik auf (Ausnahme: ein selbst mitgeführter Verstärker für den E-Bass)

Bei Konzerten und Auftritten im Freien bzw. in größeren Sälen sind folgende technischen Anforderungen zu beachen:

  • 4 Vocal-Mikrofone
  • 2 Instrumental-Mikrofone für komb. Gitarre/Mandoline
  • 3 Mikrofone vor Verstärkern für E-Bass
  • Violine/Viola und Cello (oder entsprechende Anschlussmöglichkeiten für Klinke/Klinke-Kabel)
  • mind. 2 Monitor-Lautsprecher.

 Die Gruppe benötigt für alle Auftritte 3 Stühle ohne Armlehne.

Anfragen an: Wehling.t@web.de